Mentis Game Awards for Storytelling

This fall, gaming site Gamasutra released their picks for the Quantum Leap Awards: Storytelling. Users from all over the net sent in their nominations, and many of them went into the honorable mention portion, as only five would be chosen for the awards. The thing is, many of those games I never played. Some of them I tried and didn’t like. So I decided that it was time for my own list.

The following is a completely subjective and entirely personal account of what games were the most significant for me primarily based on their storytelling aspect. This is a personal history in a way, as I have put this list of games together in the order in which I encountered them. Since I often times had very limited access to games, some of these may seem strange to you, and some of them I’m sure will. So without further ado, I hope you’ll enjoy this peculiar account and selection.

Here are the results of which games have received the prestigious Mentis Game Award for Storytelling, in order of appearance...
  • SimCity
  • Final Fantasy Adventure
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  • Final Fantasy VI (formerly III)
  • Wing Commander III: Heart of the Tiger
  • Riven: The Sequel to Myst
  • The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
  • Vandal Hearts
  • Final Fantasy VII
  • Omikron: The Nomad Soul
  • Seaman
  • Shenmue
  • The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind
  • Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic
  • Gothic
  • System Shock 2
  • Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne
  • Indigo Prophecy

Honorable Mentions go to the following titles, also in order of appearance...
  • Secret of Mana
  • The Terminator: Future Shock
  • The X-Files
  • Final Fantasy VIII
  • Final Fantasy IX
  • Arx Fatalis
  • The White Chamber
  • Façade

Now that I am done, I’d love to hear what games have made the top of your personal list. Go ahead, just leave a comment and let me know.

blog comments powered by Disqus